Mutterkuh Schweiz

Mutterkuh Schweiz

Mutterkuh Schweiz

Mutterkuh Schweiz

Herd-book

The beef cattle herd-book FLHB

 

Mother Cow Switzerland is the service organization of Swiss suckler cow owners and beef cattle breeders. The organization currently has around 5,300 members with over 95,000 suckler cows.

The beef cattle herd-book (FLHB) of Suckler Cow Switzerland was set up in 1980 and has been officially recognized by the Confederation since 1986. Thanks to the steadily growing number of suckler cow farms the FLHB now lists around 1,200 herd-book holdings. Practically all the beef cattle breeds registered in Switzerland are represented.

Beef cattle breeds
At present 34 different breeds are represented in the FLHB.  They are as follows:
Angus (AN), Aubrac (AU), Bazadaise (BZ), Blonde d’Aquitaine (BD), Braunvieh (BV), Charolais (CH), Dahomey (DA), Dexter (DR), Eringer (HR), Evolène (EV), Galloway (GA), Gasconne (GC), Gelbvieh (GV), Grauvieh (AL), Hereford (HH), Highland Cattle (HI), Hinterwäldler (HW), Maine Anjou (MA), Limousin (LM), Luing (LG), Parthenaise (PA), Piemonteser (PI), Pinzgauer (PZ), Salers (SL), Shorthorn (SH), Simmental (SM), Texas Longhorn (TL), Tux-Zillertaler (TX), Vosgienne (VS), Wagyu (WA) and Zebu (ZE).

Breeding objectives

The basic aim is to breed economically viable beef cattle fed on roughage. The detailed breed-specific breeding aims are laid down by the breed clubs.

 

The objectives of the FLHB

      To select the best cows and bulls and decide on the most promising mating pairs.

      To make available to breeders, breed clubs and small-farm organizations the performance data of the breeding animals and their forbears and offspring.

      To make it possible to compare breeding farms.

      To improve individual characteristics with regard to the economic viability of beef cattle for breeding and fattening operations.

 

FLHB services

The herd-book is responsible for the collection and evaluation of performance and conformation traits and the requirements for entry into the herd-book. Depending on the service module of a breed, different records are kept with regard to pedigree, performance characteristics and conformation.

 

 

Summary FLHB Services

 

Explanatory notes for the pedigree certificate 

 

 

Recognition of the FLHB by ICAR 

The beef cattle herd book of Suckler Cow Switzerland is recognized by the Confederation and certified by ICAR since January 2010. ICAR stands for the International Committee for Animal Recording - an international committee which administers performance tests in the field of animal production. ICAR defines standards and guidelines. It checks that animal identification, data collection, data processing and genetic evaluation correctly reflect the pedigree and performance of the animals. This certification guarantees international recognition for Suckler Cow Switzerland’s beef cattle genetics. The ICAR quality label is displayed on every breeding identification card.

 

The strong points of beef cattle breeds

      ideally suited for suckler cow husbandry

      high fertility level and problem-free calving

      ideal morphology and solid build

      robust and sturdy

      good development as young animals and very long-living

      outstanding roughage-based growth and pasture suitability

      very good meat-bone ratio

      excellent meat quality

      first-rate suitability as mating partner for production animals

 

Beef cattle performance check (FLEK), linear description (LB) and classification

The beef cattle performance check, the linear description and the genetic evaluation are designed to assess the typical and relevant aspects of suckler cow husbandry, respectively beef cattle breeding. All the cows on the herd-book farms are subject to the FLEK, which records the weight gains of the calves and the reproduction data of the cows. The reproduction performance of the cows in suckler cow husbandry is just as important as the weight gain of the calves, but the sale of the young animals is the most important source of income. Correction factors applied to the FLEK evaluation make it possible to compare performance, with the result that breeders can assess the performance level of their animals and determine the decisive selection values.

The FLEK complies the following information:

      the growth performance of the calves (weight at birth, daily weight gain, weaning weight)

      the reproduction performance of the cows (fertility age, calving interval, birth process, productivity indicator)

 

The linear description of the bulls and cows makes it possible to select the best breeding animals, on the basis of more than 20 criteria. It provides information on performance characteristics such as muscular development, dimensions and bone structure, as well as on criteria for longevity such as limbs and pelvis, or breed criteria such as colour or hair.

 

Evaluation of breeding values (ZWS)

To indicate an animal’s genetic value, the following breeding values are calculated:

      Birth process (GA)

      Birth weight (GG)

      Weaning weight direct (AGD)

      Weaning weight maternal (AGM) (corresponds to the milk yield)

      Net growth (NZW)

      Conformation (F)

 

Bull market

Three times a year, in January, April and September, FLHB runs a bull market for beef cattle breeds. At this auction recognised herd-book bulls of different beef cattle breeds are offered for sale.

Vache Mère Suisse

Vache Mère Suisse

Vache Mère Suisse

Vache Mère Suisse

Herd-book

Herd-book des bovins à viande (HBBV)

Vache mère Suisse est l’organisation de services des détenteurs de vaches allaitantes et des éleveurs de bovins à viande du pays. Elle compte aujourd’hui environ 5300 membres qui gardent plus de 95 000 vaches mères.

 Le Herd-book des bovins à viande (HBBV) a été créé en 1980 ; il est reconnu officiellement par la Confédération depuis 1986. Grâce à l’essor continu de l’élevage allaitant, il recense actuellement environ 1200 exploitations et gère pratiquement toutes les races de bovins à viande établies dans notre pays.

 

Les races de bovins à viande

Le HBBV compte aujourd’hui les 34 races suivantes :

Angus (AN), Aubrac (AU), Bazadaise (BZ), Blonde d’Aquitaine (BD), Brune (BV), Charolais (CH), Dahomey (DA), Dexter (DR), Hérens (HR), Evolène (EV), Galloway (GA), Gasconne (GC), Gelbvieh (GV), Grise (AL), Hereford (HH), Highland Cattle (HI), Hinterwälder (HW), Maine Anjou (MA), Limousin (LM), Luing (LG), Parthenaise (PA), Piemontese (PI), Pinzgauer (PZ), Salers (SL), Shorthorn (SH), Simmental (SM), Texas Longhorn (TL), Tux-Zillertaler (TX), Vosgienne (VS), Wagyu (WA) et Zébu (ZE).

 

Survol des races et compléments d’information



Buts d’élevage

Le but d’élevage général est l’élevage d’un bovin à viande rentable à partir des fourrages grossiers. Les buts d’élevage spécifiques à chaque race sont définis par les différents clubs de races.

 

Buts du HBBV

  • Sélectionner les meilleures vaches et les meilleurs taureaux et déterminer les accouplements les plus prometteurs.
  • Mettre à disposition des éleveurs, des clubs de races et des organisations d’IA les informations sur les performances des animaux d’élevage, de leurs ascendants et de leurs descendants.
  • Permettre aux exploitations d’élevage de se comparer les unes aux autres.
  • Améliorer les critères relatifs à la rentabilité d’un bovin à viande pour l’exploitation d’élevage ou d’engraissement.

Services du HBBV

Le HBBV est responsable du relevé et du dépouillement des critères de performance et de conformation et de définir les exigences relatives à l’admission dans le herd-book. En fonction du module de services auquel appartient une race, on procède à des enregistrements différents concernant l’ascendance, les critères de productivité et la conformation.

 

Vue d’ensemble des services du HBBV
 

Reconnaissance du HBBV par l’ICAR

Le herd-book des bovins à viande de Vache mère Suisse est reconnu par la Confédération et, depuis 2010, certifié par l’ICAR. ICAR est l’acronyme d’International Committee for Animal Recording (Comité international pour le contrôle des performances en élevage). L’ICAR définit des normes et des directives. Il vérifie notamment si l’identification des animaux, le relevé et le dépouillement des données ainsi que l’estimation de la valeur d’élevage présentent correctement l’ascendance et les performances de l’animal. Cette certification garantit que la génétique des bovins à viande de Vache mère Suisse est reconnue au plan international. Le sceau de qualité ICAR est reproduit sur chaque certificat d’élevage.

 

Les atouts des races à viande

  • Parfaitement adaptées à l’élevage allaitant
  • Bonne fertilité et vêlages sans problèmes
  • Constitution idéale et aplombs solides
  • Robustesse et résistance
  • Bon développement des jeunes et très grande longévité
  • Excellente capacité à valoriser les fourrages grossiers et adaptation au pacage
  • Très bon rapport viande / os
  • Excellente qualité de la viande
  • Meilleure aptitude à servir de partenaire d’accouplement pour les animaux de production

 

Contrôle de la performance bouchère (FLEK), description linéaire (DL) et classification

Le contrôle de la performance bouchère (FLEK), la description linéaire et l’estimation de la valeur d’élevage sont adaptés aux caractères propres de l’élevage allaitant et de l’élevage des bovins à viande. Toutes les vaches des exploitations du herd-book des bovins à viande sont soumises au FLEK. Ce dernier mesure les performances de croissance des veaux et fournit les données concernant la reproduction pour les vaches. Les performances de reproduction des vaches sont tout aussi importantes que les performances de croissance des veaux, puisque la vente de jeunes animaux représente la plus importante source de revenu pour ce secteur. Des facteurs de correction appliqués au dépouillement des données du FLEK assurent une bonne comparabilité. L’éleveur peut en déduire le niveau de performance de ses animaux, ainsi que les valeurs déterminantes pour la sélection.

 

Lors du FLEK, on relève les informations suivantes :

  • la performance de croissance du veau (poids à la naissance, gain journalier, poids au sevrage)
  • la performance de reproduction de la vache (âge de primiparité, intervêlage, déroulement du vêlage et indice de productivité)

La description linéaire des vaches et des taureaux à l’aide de plus de 20 critères doit permettre de sélectionner les meilleurs sujets d’élevage. Elle donne des indications sur les critères de productivité comme la musculature, le format et l’ossature, mais aussi sur les critères de longévité comme la mesure des aplombs et du bassin ou les critères de race comme la couleur et la conformation de la robe.

Vous trouverez des compléments d’information et des explications sur la description linéaire et la classification sous « HBBV documents et formulaires ».

 

Estimation de la valeur d’élevage (EVE)

Pour mettre en évidence la valeur génétique d’un animal, on calcule les valeurs d’élevage suivantes :

 

  • Déroulement du vêlage (DV)
  • Poids à la naissance (PN)
  • Poids au sevrage direct (PSD)
  • Poids au sevrage maternel (PSM) (correspond à la productivité laitière)
  • Gain journalier net (GNE)
  • Charnure (C)

Informations sur l’estimation de la valeur d’élevage actuelle

 

Marché des taureaux

Trois fois par an, en janvier, avril et septembre, le HBBV organise un marché des taureaux de races à viande. Des taureaux du herd-book de diverses races à viande sont proposés à la vente lors de ces mises aux enchères.

 

Informations sur les marchés des taureaux